Nepal At a Glance

Nepal is a landlocked country in South Asia known for its awe-inspiring landscapes, cultural richness, and majestic Himalayas. Here we have gathered a brief overview of Nepal, giving you a brief glance. 

Area and Geographical Features

Nepal covers an area of approximately 147,516 square kilometers (56,956 square miles). It is geographically divided into three main regions: the Himalayas in the north, the middle hills (Mahabharat Range) in the central part, and the Terai plains in the south. 


The capital city of Nepal is Kathmandu, which is also the country's largest city.


Nepal has a population of over 30 million people, including various ethnic groups and languages.


The majority of the population in Nepal follows Hinduism. Buddhism is also widely practiced, and there are notable populations of Muslims, Christians, and other religious communities.

Official Language

Nepali is the official language of Nepal. However, there are numerous regional languages and dialects spoken throughout the country.


Nepal has diverse climatic conditions due to variations in elevation. There are four seasons in Nepal;

  • Spring (March to May)
  • Summer/ Monsoon (June to August)
  • Autumn (September to October)
  • Winter (December to February)

The best time to visit Nepal for trekking and outdoor activities is during the spring (March to May) and autumn (September to November) seasons.


Nepal is home to eight of the world's ten highest peaks, including Mount Everest, and contains diverse landscapes, from snow-capped mountains to lush valleys and fertile grasslands.


Nepal is also home to a diverse range of ecosystems and wildlife. Nepal has several protected areas, including national parks, conservation areas, and wildlife reserves where diverse flora and fauna, including endangered species such as the Bengal tiger, one-horned rhinoceros, and snow leopard, are present. 

World Heritage Sites

Nepal has several UNESCO World Heritage Sites showcasing its historical, architectural, and natural value. The Kathmandu Valley alone has seven UNESCO-listed sites, which are;

  • Kathmandu Durbar Square (Kathmandu Valley)
  • Patan Durbar Square (Kathmandu Valley)
  • Bhaktapur Durbar Square (Kathmandu Valley)
  • Swayambhunath Stupa (Kathmandu Valley)
  • Boudhanath Stupa (Kathmandu Valley)
  • Pashupatinath Temple (Kathmandu Valley)
  • Changu Narayan Temple (Kathmandu Valley)

Whereas the three remaining are;

  • Lumbini, the Birthplace of Lord Buddha (Lumbini)
  • Sagarmatha National Park (Everest Region)
  • Chitwan National Park (Chitwan)

Currency/ Foreign currency exchange

The currency of Nepal is Nepali Rupees. You can exchange your currency for Nepalese rupees at the airport or through banks and other official foreign exchange counters in Nepal.